Bluesound can't handle mesh points?

Free-for-all chat about the Bluesound Ecosystem.
Royce
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 1:48 pm

Bluesound can't handle mesh points?

Post by Royce » Thu Apr 11, 2019 4:13 pm

My next problem is my mesh point Wifi network. Bluesound can't handle it. When walking through my house with a Flex 2i and a BP100 on it, it just keeps connected with the first mesh point it was on. It won't connect to the mesh point with the best signal like my phone does. Haven't got a reaction from support on this yet. I have to restart the Flex to connect to the best mesh point. Anybody has the same problem or a solution?

My mesh point network (Ubiquity Amplifi HD) can connect at 2.4 and 5 GHz. I can't shut down 5Ghz. But I can give 2.4 priority. So I did, but the Bluesound players will always connect at 5Ghz. I want it to connect at 2.4 because that will give me more distance. Also support told me to connect to 2.4 at another support ticket reaction. Anybody?

ruud76
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 3:33 am
Location: Amersfoort, The Netherlands

Re: Bluesound can't handle mesh points?

Post by ruud76 » Fri Apr 12, 2019 2:08 am

If you want to enforce 2,4ghz for some devices, add a 2nd SSID to your ubiquiti configuration (i’m on UniFi, my assumption here is amplifi supports this as well), make that a 2,4ghz network only and connect your Flex to that SSID. If this is not supported as such, i’m quite sure you can give your 2,4ghz and 5ghz networks different names in AmpliFi...
Royce wrote:
Thu Apr 11, 2019 4:13 pm
My mesh point network (Ubiquity Amplifi HD) can connect at 2.4 and 5 GHz. I can't shut down 5Ghz. But I can give 2.4 priority. So I did, but the Bluesound players will always connect at 5Ghz. I want it to connect at 2.4 because that will give me more distance. Also support told me to connect to 2.4 at another support ticket reaction. Anybody?
[ NAD C 390DDv2 | DD-BluOS | KEF R700 | Synology DS415+ | Ubiquiti UniFi ]

ruud76
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 3:33 am
Location: Amersfoort, The Netherlands

Re: Bluesound can't handle mesh points?

Post by ruud76 » Fri Apr 12, 2019 2:26 am

Here how to add a 2nd 2,4ghz only SSID

https://help.amplifi.com/hc/en-us/artic ... ional-SSID
[ NAD C 390DDv2 | DD-BluOS | KEF R700 | Synology DS415+ | Ubiquiti UniFi ]

DrFly
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2019 7:40 am
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland

Re: Bluesound can't handle mesh points?

Post by DrFly » Fri Apr 12, 2019 5:41 am

No solution to your problem from my side, but interested to read your experience as I was considering installing a mesh network in my house after being told by Bluesound that my connection issues were due to my Powerline adapter... And I was planning on doing exactly what you do, namely moving through the house with a Flex 2i and a BP100 powerpack.

So if Bluesound players can't handle powerline adapters or mesh networks (when all other devices in the house work perfectly), I am starting to wonder what Bluesound actually does work with...

Why doesn't Bluesound come up with specific Wi-Fi boosters like Sonos do, which users could at least rely on for their product?

User avatar
TonyW
Site Admin
Posts: 3387
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 1:11 pm
Location: Pickering, ON CANADA
Contact:

Re: Bluesound can't handle mesh points?

Post by TonyW » Fri Apr 12, 2019 10:53 am

Hi Royce

The issue is pre-2i products and band steering not Mesh networks.

Not all mesh networks work the same. MANY do not support multicast out of the gate and you have to enable it. An access point is an access point is an access point so the same principals apply to a mesh as a single access point router.
DrFly wrote:
Fri Apr 12, 2019 5:41 am
Why doesn't Bluesound come up with specific Wi-Fi boosters
Simple - we are in the business of great sounding audio and so many other companies are doing home networking better and cheaper than we can. Anything you do to improve your network will improve the experience for ALL your IoT appliances, not just your audio system.
Need help? Select Help, Send Support Request in the App or e-mail us at support@bluesound.com and we will reach out to you.

Royce
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 1:48 pm

Re: Bluesound can't handle mesh points?

Post by Royce » Fri Apr 12, 2019 4:35 pm

ruud76 wrote:
Fri Apr 12, 2019 2:26 am
Here how to add a 2nd 2,4ghz only SSID

https://help.amplifi.com/hc/en-us/artic ... ional-SSID
Thanks! I got a 2.4Ghz network up and running now!
Connection coverage is a bit better than it was at 5Ghz.

Royce
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2018 1:48 pm

Re: Bluesound can't handle mesh points?

Post by Royce » Fri Apr 12, 2019 4:40 pm

DrFly wrote:
Fri Apr 12, 2019 5:41 am
No solution to your problem from my side, but interested to read your experience as I was considering installing a mesh network in my house after being told by Bluesound that my connection issues were due to my Powerline adapter... And I was planning on doing exactly what you do, namely moving through the house with a Flex 2i and a BP100 powerpack.

So if Bluesound players can't handle powerline adapters or mesh networks (when all other devices in the house work perfectly), I am starting to wonder what Bluesound actually does work with...

Why doesn't Bluesound come up with specific Wi-Fi boosters like Sonos do, which users could at least rely on for their product?
I love my mesh point network. My phone works perfect on it, also other devices. Bluesound just doesn't rescan, but as Tony said, they are working on it. For now, just reboot the player and it will again connect to the best antenna. And when you have a dip somewhere in your house or garden, just buy and connect a new mesh point.

Stelvio
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 8:43 pm

Re: Bluesound can't handle mesh points?

Post by Stelvio » Fri Apr 12, 2019 8:48 pm

After a time my devices (all Gen2) often ended up connected to the worse of the two available AP signals. Like others I'm a little annoyed that every other device copes fine but the Bluesound gear does not. I solved it fairly simply by mac address filtering on the AP's, so that problem for me was quite easily solved but should not really exist in the first place and is not an option for some people or applications (you can't carry a flex to another area of the house, for example). It also rankles that issues like this exist on a product that is 2-3 times the price of its nearest semi-competitor (which has the networking hardware and software built-in).

Tony makes a valid point that specialist companies can make network gear better and cheaper than Bluesound trying to do it in house, but also it means Bluesound have to try to provide support for customers with a multitude of different networking hardware and software which can't be easy. The impression that all faults are blamed on network until proven otherwise seems pretty widespread. It would be very useful for Bluesound to provide a list of tested networking products and setup settings to help people select the best solution. For sure it's a complex problem and there is likely not one optimal solution that works for all. Perhaps there are also legal implications of recommending one product over another. Also, from my recollection of 'certified' hardware and software products (in that case video cards and drivers to work with a major CAD software product) I had as many problems with 'certified' gear as I did with non-, so it's not a silver bullet. It's obviously a very difficult field with almost infinite variables, but at least in terms of connecting to the current best available signal, it seems Bluesound is more problematic than most.
_________________________________________________
NAD T758v3 | Powernode2 | Soundbar2 | Pulse Flex x3

Stelvio
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2018 8:43 pm

Re: Bluesound can't handle mesh points?

Post by Stelvio » Fri Apr 12, 2019 8:52 pm

PS: Once set up and working well, I love my Bluesound gear! I use it every day in almost all areas of my house and workshop.
_________________________________________________
NAD T758v3 | Powernode2 | Soundbar2 | Pulse Flex x3

DrFly
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2019 7:40 am
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland

Re: Bluesound can't handle mesh points?

Post by DrFly » Mon Apr 15, 2019 6:32 am

TonyW wrote:
Fri Apr 12, 2019 10:53 am
DrFly wrote:
Fri Apr 12, 2019 5:41 am
Why doesn't Bluesound come up with specific Wi-Fi boosters
Simple - we are in the business of great sounding audio and so many other companies are doing home networking better and cheaper than we can. Anything you do to improve your network will improve the experience for ALL your IoT appliances, not just your audio system.
Right, but looking at other users' accounts on the forum, it looks like I'm not the only one struggling with getting Bluesound (and only Bluesound) to work properly in a less-than-perfect network environment, such as a large house.

Many users (including myself) seem frustrated by the support team not really finding the right solution and only offering hypotheses rather than fixes ("try changing routers", "might be your powerline", "you may want to try mesh but can't promise you it will work" etc.), arguing that every network environment is different. The idea of developing your own Wi-fi booster would be to have a one-fits-all solution which would work for every Bluesound customer, in every house, on every network environment.

As regards your remark on improving my network for all my appliances, not just Bluesound: sorry to say, but as many other users with me have expressed, it's ONLY my Bluesound which requires network improvement, my other appliances work just fine with my current network environment...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests