Asus Router configurations

Discuss wired, wireless and powerline networking with Bluesound.
emperor
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2015 10:53 am

Asus Router configurations

Post by emperor » Mon Apr 25, 2016 11:45 am

Apparently, there are issues with Bluesound and ASUS RT-AC66U/RT-AC68U routers (using WiFi).
My players keep hanging and show various other issues.

If you have any of the routers mentioned above, could you share the settings you have?
I'm interested in both working environments and those who may experience the same issues.
Please also post the firmware you're using.

Thanks

User avatar
TonyW
Site Admin
Posts: 3362
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 1:11 pm
Location: Pickering, ON CANADA
Contact:

Re: Asus Router configurations

Post by TonyW » Mon Apr 25, 2016 12:15 pm

Hi Emperor

Please select Help, Send Support Request in the App or e-mail us directly at support@bluesound.com and we will help you out.
Need help? Select Help, Send Support Request in the App or e-mail us at support@bluesound.com and we will reach out to you.

emperor
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2015 10:53 am

Re: Asus Router configurations

Post by emperor » Tue Apr 26, 2016 2:26 am

Hi Tony,

I have done so (#22111), but I was told it's an Asus issue and that I should contact them.

User avatar
TonyW
Site Admin
Posts: 3362
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 1:11 pm
Location: Pickering, ON CANADA
Contact:

Re: Asus Router configurations

Post by TonyW » Tue Apr 26, 2016 8:37 am

Hi Emperor

ASUS is having issues with multicast but we have some tricks up our sleeve... Brandon will be in touch ;-)
Need help? Select Help, Send Support Request in the App or e-mail us at support@bluesound.com and we will reach out to you.

damaltor
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2015 10:09 pm
Location: AB, Canada

Re: Asus Router configurations

Post by damaltor » Tue Apr 26, 2016 10:49 am

emperor wrote:Apparently, there are issues with Bluesound and ASUS RT-AC66U/RT-AC68U routers (using WiFi).
My players keep hanging and show various other issues.

If you have any of the routers mentioned above, could you share the settings you have?
I'm interested in both working environments and those who may experience the same issues.
Please also post the firmware you're using.

Thanks
Don't know if this will help you at all?
I have an Asus RT-N66U and I use ASUSWRT-MERLIN ver. 380.57, with fairly basisc settings and I don't have any issues with my Node 2 and Powernode 2's.
Not exactly the same router, but very similar.
NAD T175, T955, C275BEE, Node2, PSB Imagine T2, C & B
Powernode2, PSB Imagine B | Powernode2, PSB Imagine Mini & SubSeries 100
NAD C326BEE, T955, Node2, Paradigm Monitor 11 v7

Bjorn
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 1:02 pm

Re: Asus Router configurations

Post by Bjorn » Wed Apr 27, 2016 2:41 pm

TonyW wrote:Hi Emperor

ASUS is having issues with multicast but we have some tricks up our sleeve... Brandon will be in touch ;-)
Can you share some of these tricks?

I thought I had solved my problems but they came back :-(
Björn
Running Bluesound Node 2, 2 Pulse mini and a Pulse Flex
Bluesound apps for iPad, iPhone and OSX

User avatar
TonyW
Site Admin
Posts: 3362
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 1:11 pm
Location: Pickering, ON CANADA
Contact:

Re: Asus Router configurations

Post by TonyW » Thu Apr 28, 2016 7:27 am

Hi Bjorn

We'd love to but each router environment is slightly different depending on the firmware installed on the router.

Basically make sure you are running ASUS latest firmware (March 2016) and you open up mulitcasting as much as possible. I think in ASUS they say something about XboX compatible mode. We have had more success with that open.
Need help? Select Help, Send Support Request in the App or e-mail us at support@bluesound.com and we will reach out to you.

emperor
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2015 10:53 am

Re: Asus Router configurations

Post by emperor » Thu Apr 28, 2016 7:50 am

I will share my setup and settings after my session with Bluesound support.

Bjorn
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 1:02 pm

Re: Asus Router configurations

Post by Bjorn » Thu Apr 28, 2016 9:34 am

TonyW wrote:Hi Bjorn

We'd love to but each router environment is slightly different depending on the firmware installed on the router.

Basically make sure you are running ASUS latest firmware (March 2016) and you open up mulitcasting as much as possible. I think in ASUS they say something about XboX compatible mode. We have had more success with that open.
Thanks. I have been running with the Merlin firmware but have now changed back to the standard (beta from March 2016). Enabled xbox compability mode and IGMP Snooping.

Keeping my fingers crossed that it will work better. If not I will open a new ticket with the Bluesound support :-)
Björn
Running Bluesound Node 2, 2 Pulse mini and a Pulse Flex
Bluesound apps for iPad, iPhone and OSX

emperor
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2015 10:53 am

Re: Asus Router configurations

Post by emperor » Thu Apr 28, 2016 11:59 am

So, here's my setup.
bluesound_asus_system2.jpg
bluesound_asus_system2.jpg (15.31 KiB) Viewed 7336 times
I have three Asus RT-AC68U, one is the main router and two serves as access points.
To get better WiFi signal to the two non-wired players (the Pulse Mini and the Power Node), I added an Asus RP-N12 Media Brigde to each of them.
The bridges are locked to the the nearest router, so they don't switch to another one with lower strength (could happen if the nearest router reboots for example).

There seems to be a known issue with Asus and Multicast, especially if more units are connected together (like my router and the access points).
Here are the settings I changed, which made all the difference:

Router:
LAN -> IPTV: Enable multicast routing (IGMP Proxy) : Enabled
LAN -> IPTV: Enable efficient multicast forwarding (IGMP Snooping): Enabled
Wireless -> Professional -> Band 2.4GHz -> Enable IGMP Snooping: Enabled
Wireless -> Professional -> Band 2.4GHz -> Multicast Rate(Mbps): OFDM 12

Access Points:
Wireless -> Professional -> Band 2.4GHz -> Enable IGMP Snooping: Enabled
Wireless -> Professional -> Band 2.4GHz -> Multicast Rate((Mbps): OFDM 12

It's copied straight from this post: http://www.snbforums.com/threads/rc-ac6 ... ost-190344.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests