Node 2i & weak volume direct to power amp

Feedback and general discussions on sound quality and playback.
Post Reply
downinit
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 2:05 am

Node 2i & weak volume direct to power amp

Post by downinit » Fri Feb 08, 2019 12:58 pm

First post, hope someone can help me.
I am trying to maximize volume with my Node 2i hooked direct to my NAD C 275BEE power amp. I've tried unsuccessfully to get decent volume from the unit when set up this way. When I use my NAD C 326BEE as a pre-amp to the power amp I can get decent volume from the Node 2i, perhaps because I have the volume control set to fixed on the node when using the preamp configuration. Obviously, I need to set the volume to variable on the Node when using direct to power amp because of no volume control on the power amp.

Why is this happening? Is weak volume just something I have to live with when hooked direct to the power amp? If so, this is disappointing because it's one of the main reasons I purchased this unit. Thanks for any help in this matter.

downinit
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 2:05 am

Re: Node 2i & weak volume direct to power amp

Post by downinit » Sat Feb 09, 2019 2:19 am

31 Views and no response. This forum is super helpful (sarcasm). Anyone? Anyone? Bueller... Bueller...

downinit
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 2:05 am

Re: Node 2i & weak volume direct to power amp

Post by downinit » Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:03 am

I had a utopian dream of using the Node 2i as a digital preamp with my NAD C 275BEE poweramp. All signs point to selling the Node and returning to my Dragonfly Red. I really wanted to support this product.
Last edited by downinit on Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

SeppiE
Posts: 1130
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2014 12:04 pm
Location: Liverpool, UK

Re: Node 2i & weak volume direct to power amp

Post by SeppiE » Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:04 am

There is or was a switch on many of the NAD power amps that let you set the input to fixed or variable and a level adjustment knob. You obviously need fixed as the Node is variable.

If no joy....

If you have tone control enabled in Bluesound, try turing it off.

Check the that the phono interconnecting lead is not an attenuating one (Kimber made these in abundance at one point)
Last edited by SeppiE on Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:07 am, edited 2 times in total.

Roamingstudio
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 1:10 pm

Re: Node 2i & weak volume direct to power amp

Post by Roamingstudio » Sat Feb 09, 2019 3:04 am

Analogue output from a node 2 to a Project DS2 power amp and everything sounds perfect.

Is the output scaling on the Node 2i (audio settings) enabled?

Is there a scaling factor on the NAD - analog input vs line in input (different voltage ranges?)

braino
Posts: 390
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 11:01 am

Re: Node 2i & weak volume direct to power amp

Post by braino » Sat Feb 09, 2019 1:45 pm

Like the others I assume you've set the input on the NAD to variable and set the input level to Max.
NAD.jpg
NAD.jpg (19.91 KiB) Viewed 967 times
| Node 2 | Pulse | Pulse Mini x 2 | Pulse Flex 2i | Pulse Flex x 2 | NAD T755 | NAD C 272 | B&W CDM SE |
| Schiit Bifrost Multibit | NAD C 368 | MDC BluOS 2 | B&W 685 S2 | PSB CS500

downinit
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 2:05 am

Re: Node 2i & weak volume direct to power amp

Post by downinit » Sun Feb 10, 2019 12:19 am

Thanks. My frustration has passed. I've achieved ear-splitting sound levels. The Node 2i sounds amazing hooked direct to the NAD C 275BEE power amp.

ruud76
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2016 3:33 am
Location: Amersfoort, The Netherlands

Re: Node 2i & weak volume direct to power amp

Post by ruud76 » Sun Feb 10, 2019 3:59 am

What was the cause / what did you do to solve the issue?
[ NAD C 390DDv2 | DD-BluOS | KEF R700 | Synology DS415+ | Ubiquiti UniFi ]

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest